QMH is one of the 42 hospitals and institutions managed by the Hospital Authority (HA). With the implementation of clustering management by the HA, aiming to improve inter-hospital cooperation and cost effective use of resources, QMH has become the leading hospital amongst the 7 Hong Kong West Cluster (HKWC) hospitals formed in October 2002. The other cluster hospitals are:
Duchess of Kent Children's Hospital (DKCH)
Grantham Hospital (GH)
Fung Yiu King Hospital (FYKH)
MacLehose Medical Rehabilitation Centre (MMRC)
Tsan Yuk Hospital (TYH)
Tung Wah Hospital (TWH)

The HKWC also takes charge of six satellite institutions namely, David Trench Rehabilitation Centre and five General Outpatient Clinics in Sai Ying Pun, Aberdeen, Ap Lei Chau, Kennedy Town and Central District Health Centre.